top of page
  • Writer's pictureSonja Rae

My LA Getaway Guide

Updated: Jan 13, 2020


Last week I posted about all of the great restaurants I got to go to while I was in LA over the summer. Like I said before, food is usually the highlight of any trip I take but I know that for others the activities are what takes priorities when on vacation. I might have mostly eaten while in the City of Angels but I did het to check out some other great things while I was there, too.

 

One of my favorite part of my trip was going out and spending some time with my girlfriends. One of the nights we went out we hit up a few bars and I would definitely head back a bar called Perch. Not only were the cocktails great but the atmosphere is even better. It’s on the 15th floor of the Pershing Square building and is a beautiful, rooftop, French inspired lounge. With outdoor fireplaces, couches, and an awesome view of the LA skyline, I would definitely recommend stopping by for a drink or two.

Another cool spot we gabbed a drink at was the Library Bar. I do have to warn you: it’s so small inside! I was not expecting it to be such a tight squeeze and we got there a little later than I had hoped but even though it was a very tiny bar I still really loved the vibe. The Library Bar lives up to its name and has shelves full of books lining the exposed brick and cocktail names that have literary references. Next time I’m in town I will definitely be back to this bar, and I am sure I’ll be trying their food as well.

As far as some delicious non-alcoholic beverages go, the one place I made sure to visit was the Alfred Tea Room in Melrose. You may have seen their bubble tea while swiping through Kourtney Kardashian’s Instagram stories or maybe you’re like me and excessively stalk the tea room on social media. Either way, if you’re in LA, you should give them a try. I had been planning on going to Alfred’s months before I even flew into LAX so when I finally got to stand in line and order their match latte with Boba you can imagine how ecstatic I was to take my first sip. It was just as magical as I could have imagined and I still crave their teas every single day. Do yourselves a favor and follow them on Instagram; I know I always have a better day when I get to admire their white chocolate dipped croissants and ombrè tea drinks.

 

Now as far as sight-seeing goes, here are the three places I loved opening time while in La La Land:

The obvious: Santa Monica Pier. Any time I have ever gone to LA I always make a stop to walk along the pier. Being on the beach surrounded by food, rides and happy tourists. There is really nothing better. It also helps when you stop by Soda Jerks Ice Cream Shop and grab one of their delicious sundaes.

Along with Santa Monica Pier is the Venice Beach Boardwalk. There are so many awesome shops, restaurants, and bars lining the ocean and usually a few street performers as well. I think walking down Venice Beach towards Santa Monica was my favorite part of the trip. I love the feel of the ocean breeze combined with all of the sights and sounds of the boardwalk.

Last but not least: Rodeo Drive. If you’re like me and worship fashion more than life itself than walking down Rodeo Drive will be the highlight of your vacation. I remember the first time I saw Rodeo Drive in a movie when I was a little girl and I knew that’s where I belonged. (No, the movie I am referring to is not Clueless, nor is it Pretty Woman, it is however Mighty Ducks: D2 and I still dream of a day when I can walk of the streets of Beverly Hills shopping with the Junior Olympic American hockey team the Ducks.) I did my fair share of strolling around Louis Vuitton, Burberry, Tiffany & Co., Tory Burch and Fred Segal. Did I buy anything? Of course not! Are you crazy? I spent all of my money on food and alcohol. But I still drooled over the sea of handbags and the beautiful summer lines.

I absolutely love LA and I hope that you get the opportunity to check out all of my favorite spots! I can’t wait to head back and experience the magic of California all over again

Happy travels, sunshines!

XO,

Sonny


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page