top of page
  • Sonny Rae

Christmas in the City

Updated: Jan 13, 2020


Growing up in Chicago, IL I was surrounded by snow, lights and grand holiday events. Now that I’m back in my home town of Elmhurst, I can’t help but remember all of my favorite Christmas traditions that made this time of year all that much more special.

One of my favorite things my family did each year was cut down our own Christmas tree. We would head to Oney’s Farm in Woodstock, IL, hop on a festive hay ride and venture out into the sea of trees. They supplied you with a saw and you had the pleasure of picking out any tree that caught your eye. Once you had your tree, you got on the next hay ride back to “Santa’s Village” and my parent’s would always let me pick out an ornament, drink some hot chocolate and find a wreath for our front door. Now a days, we spend a good 15 minutes at Home Depot picking out the perfect tree. Adulthood comes with a lot of new (easier) traditions, but I know one day I’ll take my kids to a tree farm to start the tradition all over again.

Another one of my traditions I want to pass on to my kids is eating at the Walnut Room in Marshall Field’s. Marshall Field’s, which was unfortunately taken over by Macy’s, is a beautiful department store in downtown Chicago. They have a holiday story portrayed in their store’s windows and they always have a grand tree that seems to be the height of the entire store. The restaurant is located at the base of the tree and I would always try my hardest to sit as close to it as I could. Even though I was there to eat I never paid much attention to the food; I was more interested in the decorations and, most importantly, the Christmas Fairy. The Christmas Fairy would float around from table to table, sprinkling dust on the tops of our heads in order for us to make a Christmas Wish and it was something I never wanted to miss out on.

After a long day of shopping downtown on the Magnificent Mile, or maybe Sledding down Double Dip Hill at our family’s winter cabin, I would always love to put on my ice skates and glide around the rink or ice-covered pond. Millennium Park is always decked out in the prettiest lights and décor, it’s always magical to ice skate in the center of the city. Yet, it doesn’t compare to a frozen pond in the middle of a winter wonderland. I never quite became the Tara Lapipinski I so desperately wanted to be, but ice skating is still one of my favorite holiday activities.

Last but not least, my favorite Christmas tradition is decorating. Once the tree was home, I was ready to show off my new ornaments. We would set out boxes and boxes of decorations, put on Nat King Cole, and get to work. I don’t know if it was the warm fire or just being in the comfort of my home surrounded by family, but decorating the tree was the most magical part of the entire holiday. That’s a tradition I hold onto tightly, and I don’t think I will ever let go of.

My traditions have always made this time of year my absolute favorite time and I count down the days until Christmas. Now that it’s here I cherish the memories of Christmas past and look forward to all of the holiday cheer to come.

I hope you have the most wonderful holidays!

XO

Sonny


17 views0 comments
bottom of page