top of page
  • Sonny Rae

SKIN CARE: 101

Updated: Jan 13, 2020


My entire tween, teen and adult life I have struggled with my skin. Whether it’s intense acne, pesky little break outs or just the always present black heads, I have done everything to manage my blemishes and I have finally found the perfect way to make my skin smooth and spot free!

The most important step to my skincare routine is taking off all of my makeup. I know it’s common advice to make sure you never go to bed with your makeup on but I know plenty of people who still fall asleep without even just taking a makeup removing wipe to their face. My go to for makeup remover is Neutrogena Make-Up Removing Wipes; they are simple to use and easy to pack! Even if I get home from a long night out, the drunken slob kabob version of myself can still manage to use the wipes without fault. I always make sure I have a naked face, sans oil and dirt, to start my cleaning process.

The second step to my skin care regimen is cleansing, which I always do twice in order to ensure that all of the make-up and dirt has been cleared off of my face. I like to start with a scrub to really get deep into my pores. I want to make sure that the gentile cleanser I use will be able to get into every nook and cranny hiding beneath the layers of primer and highlighter. I currently use a cleansing scrub by ORIGINS called the GinZing Refreshing Scrub Cleanser and I not only love how well it works but also the scent. Next I move onto a softer cleansing product. My new favorite cleanser is by KORA ORGANICS and it is called Cream Cleanser for Dry Skin. It leaves my face feeling hydrated and smooth.

Side Note: To make sure my skin is getting the best treatment I make sure to exfoliate twice a week. The CAUDALIE Deep Cleansing Exfoliator is what I’ve been keeping in my medicine cabinet this past year and I really love how well it works. I’ve tried to find an exfoliator that could really scrub away all of the dead skin but nothing was living up to my expectations. Once I used the Caudalie I knew it could get the job done. It’s coarse enough to give you a fresh new face but gentile enough not to scratch or tear at the skin.

Moving on!

My third step, which is using toner, is something I feel people neglect or just don’t realize the importance of. I know when I first started washing my face as an awkward middle schooler I never used “Step 2” of my Proactive kit. I’m pretty sure, up until the age of 23, I had a bag full of unused Proactive toner under my bathroom sink. I didn’t realize that it was a step I shouldn’t have skipped, so now I never forget to use my toner. It’s important that you find a toner that works well with your skin type. My skin is typically dry and red so I found a cleansing water toner that hydrates while reducing redness. KENZOKI makes the Amazing Cleansing Water that I apply after my cleaners. For me, it helps make my skin feel refreshed and tightens my pores.

I know you must think that we’ve finally reached the final step, and to that I say “yeah right”. This is your skin we’re talking about, it’s something that you have to take as much care of as you do your body and mind. So, it may seem as though this process is pretty tedious and overdone but it’s worth it to keep your skin in the best shape!

The fourth step is a face serum which is full of nutrients to protect the skin and avoid wrinkles. Our skin does not naturally produce Vitamin C, so it is crucial to find a serum with Vitamin C in the ingredients (which the majority of them do). Like toners, you want to find the one that will compliment your skin, or focus on a certain issue/area. After looking everywhere for a serum I liked I finally found OLE HENRIKSEN Truth Serum that is anti-aging, contains Vitamin C and has collagen. I think it does wonders for my skin, and it’s been helping repair the fine lines that appeared after a bad burn I got on my forehead. If you’re younger, spot treatments for acne might be more beneficial than a serum, but once you hit your twenties try switching over to the serum to start protecting that young glow from dulling.

The final step (we made it!) is the always soothing moisturizer. I switch off between two, the Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream or the Neutrogena Hydro Boost, and both work very well. Like I said earlier, my face tends to be on the dryer side, so I like to moisturize my skin in the morning and at night. I use the Neutrogena Hydro Boost Water Gel with SPF 15 once I get up in the morning to make sure my skin is safe from the sun. Whether I’m putting make up on or not I like to make sure I don’t step outside without protecting my face. Moisturizing is key to making sure your skin locks in the hydration from all of the other products used before it. While you sleep your skin will prepare itself so you can wake up feeling brand new!

Something I have recently added to my night time routine is Vitamin E oil. I use one of my old eyelash extension brushes to apply a layer of the oil onto my lashes before getting into bed. I’ve noticed a big difference since I’ve started to use it. My lashes have gotten longer and I’ve noticed that my mascara goes on a lot smoother. After I had my eyelash extensions, my lashes were stumpy and thin. Now I feel like they are regaining their health and getting back to their normal form. I have also used the Vitamin E oil with my moisturizer by pouring a drop of it in the palm of my hand after I’ve scooped up some of my lotion. It makes my face feel oily right after I put it on but once you let it soak in overnight your face will just feel soft and smooth in the morning!

37 views0 comments
bottom of page